STELIANA NISTOR: “I won’t go back to Deva!”

At the age of 19, Steliana ends her career because of the injuries

— Steliana, do you miss gymnastic?
— No!
It’s a straight answer, gave exactly on the “Lie’s Bridge” from Sibiu. The city’s habitats avoid to lie when passing the iron bridge because they are afraid the bridge will give away under their lie’s weight. Steliana came back home in Sibiu three weeks ago.

Steliana Nistor, bronze medalist with the team at the Olympics in Beijing, it’s the first gymnast that say “pass”  returning to Deva.

AGONY
“I have injuries at my back, my bend, my joints, my ankle and my knees”, Steliana said. Everything is against the fairy tale from Deva. “It’s not a mental issue. Physical I cannot continue. To vault and floor exercises everything hurts, to balance beam I feel pain to my legs and column and to uneven bars my back hurts. I cannot keep it up!”, Stela adds.

Started to 15 years, her career is about to end. In 2004 she conquered the European Title to junior AA Competition with a score higher than the senior gymnasts and after that followed the back injury and the knee medical intervention. This stopped her evolution for almost a year. What did that year meant to her? “A big soul break”. A soul that just turned to 15 years. “I was little and I let myself led by my coach. I lost very much time and the injuries got worse”, she remembers.

“I don’t feel like the gymnastic stole my childhood”

Besides her problems from gym, she had to pass through her parents divorce and the poverty from her home. Steliana comes from a decayed family and she has two older brothers. This was a burden that she carried in those four years she trained to Deva with the Olympic Team. She also had to take the bacalaureat exam a month before the Olympics where she was marked with 8,95.

4 years is the age Steliana Nistor started gymnastic

5 european and worlds individual medals Steliana Nistor won in her career

THE YEAR AND THE INJURY
Injuries, pauses alternated with medals. In 2006, at CE from Volos Stela helped the team to won the silver medal but 2007 was the sweetest year for her, she won her first individual medal, the European silver at uneven bars, followed by World silver to all around and balance beam. This period is the one with the most grateful memories for Steliana from her 15 years of gymnastic. The peak was the medal she took on uneven bars – her favorite event. The good results to uneven bars grew up from pain. Being injured, she could practice only to bars, because this event did not asked that much from her body.

The next year, 2008 – the Olympic year,  wasn’t that good anymore. After another European silver medal won to uneven bars, a new injury appeared at her back. “After the Romanian National Championship I had new back injuries. It was not the same problem like in 2005”, Steliana says. So that she arrived in Beijing very unhealthy.

She needed six infiltration to compete in three competitions and a final to uneven bars. This is how the medical history from Beijing looks like. “Without the infiltrations I could’t compete”, she said. Even though, she had the biggest score for the Romanian team, who won the bronze medal and she was the fifth to AA.

“I’m a teen-ager with childish thoughts and reactions. Now I wait the time to change me!”

HER LIFE AFTER GYMNASTIC
She came back to Sibiu three weeks ago. A town that she discovers now and a town that discovers Steliana Nistor. “When I arrived I left my luggage home and I went for a walk. I don’t like to be barred. I have been so long time only in the gym and school”, Steliana said.

The next step was to eat as more chocolate as she wanted, although she was allowed to eat chocolate to Deva also. “ I ate chocolate until I got sick. Now I don’t want to even see it. I’m aware that I will start to put on weight. And that’s not because I eat more now, it’s because I suddenly stopped the physical training. I don’t exagerate with the food. I just replaced the black bread with the white one.”, Steliana added.

“The Lie’s Bridge” did not fall. For Steliana will come another hundreds of promenades in the town without swings, on a way of thounsands times flater than the balance beam.

13 Responses

  1. […] STELIANA NISTOR: “I won’t go back to Deva!” […]

  2. Hi, I heard that Steliana will be going to Deva to have a final discussion with Forminte! Can you tell us the outcome of that? Please update us when you know! Thanks

  3. Yes, that is true and as far as I know that discussion will take place tomorrow🙂 I would be the happiest if Forminte would succeed to change her mind and Steliana will decide to continue gymnastics.

  4. I posted something about that🙂 Maybe there is still hope

  5. hola fue una exelente actuacion y no te des por vencida yo vi todas tuscompetencias y para mi eres una ganadora niña linda sigue adelante ok

  6. I’m always torn between admiring these top gymnasts for their discipline and hard work over the years, and yet sad that they’ve had to sacrifice so much of a “normal” life for their art. It’s just heart-breaking that she’d not had a chance to stuff herself silly with chocolate before.

    I’d be disappointed if Steliana retires now, but I’ll be just as glad that she’d have a chance to take as many walks as she wants, let her body heal, and take part in the pleasures of life that the rest of us take for granted.

  7. mmmmmmm que mala suerte que se retire steliana es muy linda
    pero le deseo lo mejor y que tenga una buena vida

  8. i’ve read in a sports paper from Romania that she’s missing gymnastics and might return after she treats her arm injury.
    that’d be awesome.love ya steliana.

  9. Sigue tragando chocolate pinche gorda!, si te vi en beijin bien pasada de tacos y pambazos, por eso te duele la espalda, desde que cumpliste los 17 te fuiste pa arriba en el peso, a mi se me hace que cuando ya la probaste tu complexion cambió. Ni modo eso hace la riata.

    Ya me imagino como has de estar ahora bien choncha. Pero igual te amo mamita.

  10. let me know if someone have a recent pic of that faty baby.

  11. I think she is amazing- good for her – she has accomplished so much already- anyway, Steliana, if you ever want to move to america to be with a rich boy, look me up! I will spoil you rotten!!!

Leave a Reply

